Regional Jury

Gregory Amenoff
Columbia University

Robert Campbell
Cornish College of the Arts

Jay Coogan
IYRS School of Technology and Trades

Peter Drake
New York Academy of Art

Christian Fagerlund
University of North Texas

Matthew Gaynor
Kansas State University

Robin Hill
University of California, Davis

Martin Kruck
New Jersey City University

David Pagel
Claremont Graduate University

Howard Quednau
Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Dan Scott
Boise State University

Todd Smith
Liberty University

Ruth Bolduan
Virginia Commonwealth University School of the Arts

Maia Chachava
Central Washington University

Lisa Corinne Davis
Hunter College

Fritz Drury
Rhode Island School of Design

Anne Gaines
Parsons School of Design

Mira Gerard
East Tennessee State University

Clint Jukkala
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts

Nancy Mladenoff
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Sara Pedigo
Flagler College

Hope Railey
Laguna College of Art and Design

Tony Shore
Maryland Institute College of Art

Taravat Talepasand
San Francisco Art Institute

Charles Browning
University of the Arts

Zoe Charlton
American University

Maggie Denk-Leigh
Cleveland Institute of Art

Robert Dunning
University of North Carolina Asheville

Maureen Garvin
Savannah College of Art and Design

Arthur Gonzalez
California College of the Arts

Arnold Kemp
School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Margaret Morrison
Lamar Dodd School of Art

Shawn Powell
Kent State University

Joe Santore
Bard College

Joseph Smith
Pratt Institute

Exhibition Jury


Ian Alteveer

Ian Alteveer is Aaron I. Fleischman Curator in the Department of Modern and Contemporary Art at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. He recently co-curated retrospectives for Kerry James Marshall (2016), Marisa Merz (2017), and David Hockney (2017–18). He organized three Roof Garden Commissions at the museum for Pierre Huyghe (2015), Dan Graham with Günter Vogt (2014), and Imran Qureshi (2013) as well as the installation of William Kentridge: The Refusal of Time (2013). Before The Met, he was a graduate curatorial fellow and curatorial assistant at New York University's Grey Art Gallery. He has an undergraduate degree from Stanford University and completed his qualifying exams for a PhD at New York University's Institute of Fine Arts in 2006.


Massimiliano Gioni

Massimiliano Gioni is the Artistic Director of the New Museum in New York. He also directs the Nicola Trussardi Foundation in Milan and has organized numerous international exhibitions including the 55th Venice Biennale (2013), the 8th Gwangju Biennale (2010), the inaugural New Museum Triennial (2009), the 4th Berlin Biennale (2006), and Manifesta 5 (2004). At the New Museum he has curated solo exhibitions by, among others: John Akomfrah, Thomas Bayrle, Tacita Dean, Carsten Hoeller, Ragnar Kjartansson, Sarah Lucas, Chris Ofili, Carol Rama, Pipilotti Rist, Anri Sala, Jim Shaw, Nari Ward, and Apichatpong Weerasethakul. His group shows at the New Museum include: "Ghosts in the Machine" (2013), "Here and Elsewhere" (2014), "The Keeper" (2016), "NYC 1993: Experimental Jet Set, Trash, and No Star" (2013), "Ostalgia" (2011). He is currently at work on a group show titled "The Warmth of Other Suns" which will open at the Phillips Collection in Washington DC in June 2019, and on the exhibition "Appearance Stripped Bare: Desire and the Object in the Work of Marcel Duchamp and Jeff Koons, Even" which will open at Museo Jumex in Mexico City in May 2019.


Jennie Goldstein

Jennie Goldstein is Assistant Curator at the Whitney Museum where she works closely with the permanent collection. She curated Christine Sun Kim: Too Much Future (2018); co-curated An Incomplete History of Protest: Selections from the Whitney's Collection, 1940-2017 (August 2017-August 2018); and has collaborated on other large-scale exhibitions including Human Interest: Portraits from the Whitney's Collection and Where We Are: Selections from the Whitney's Collection, 1900-1960. She has also organized collection displays of works on paper by Glenn Ligon and video works by Rosa Aiello, Tala Madani, and Amy Sillman. While pursuing her doctorate in art history at Stony Brook University Jennie worked in the Whitney's Education department as a Joan Tisch Teaching Fellow. She has a BA in art history from Oberlin College and an MA in art history from Stony Brook University.

Manes headshot.jpg

Cara Manes

Cara Manes is Associate Curator in the Department of Painting and Sculpture at The Museum of Modern Art, where she works extensively on the ongoing displays the collection galleries and sculpture garden, as well as on temporary exhibitions. Most recently she organized Artist's Choice: Peter Fischli (2018, co-organized with Peter Fischli); Studio Visit (2018, co-organized with Ann Temkin); The Long Run (2017, co-organized with Paulina Pobocha); Projects 104: Nástio Mosquito (2016); and Take an Object (2015). She has also contributed to numerous other exhibitions, including Ellsworth Kelly: The Chatham Series (2013), Artist's Choice: Trisha Donnelly (2012), and Bauhaus 1919-1933: Workshops for Modernity (2009). Manes' writing has appeared in a variety of publications, including Among Others (MoMA, fall 2019), Being Modern (Fondation Louis Vuitton, 2017), Hans Arp and the United States (Stiftung Arp, 2016), and Films and Videos by Robert Morris (Museu Serralves, 2011). She holds degrees from Wellesley College and The City University of New York.

Prize Jury



Jennifer Schipf